Bat Reviews Continued

2018 Louisville Slugger Jeff Hall Z1000 – This bat was one that originally I didn’t think I would like it.  Ease of use is not out of the gate… by that I mean, that unlike many of the other bats I tested this bat took some rounds of BP to get comfortable with…but once I had a feel for it, it was golden.   This bat tested at a shocking 300 in the plastic.  I took 2 rounds of 100 balls (Tattoo NX3 Spinner 40/325) and at the end of the second round I finally started to get a feel for the bat.  The weight distribution feels very good, but to my surprise the extra .5 oz took some adjustment.  The bat has a half ounce end load and swings light for a 27.5.  On the scale with the handle tape on she weights 27.7 oz.

After the first two rounds I tested the bat again, and she was still hovering around 300.  The next 100 balls (also 40/325) flew by.  By the middle of the round I was really getting the swing dialed in.  Like the original Z1000 this bat has a decent sweet spot (not huge but good sized), but what I did notice was that it was almost natural to cut the ball with this bat.  The more I swung it the more I found myself cutting the ball, and it was easy to do.  Testing again and we’re down to the 250 mark but now she’s REALLY starting to break loose.

I was running late so we took it with us to a game, and some of my buddies asked to use it.  Both immediately were crushing the ball, so much so that after hitting homeruns over our limit the bat was tested another 3 times…and still clocked in at 250.

Final thought :  This bat is definitely hot.  To me it took work to adjust from a Worth or Easton, but for others they picked it up and just started crushing the ball.  This bat is competitive.  TPS will turn heads this year for sure.  In previous years the bat has simply not been at the level of the competition but now, the numbers on the tester may not say it is, but this bat is on point.  Best Z to come out in the past 4 years.  Go get you some!

2018 Pure Integrity –  This bat was a conundrum… I do not like 1 piece bats since making the change to two piece bats 6 or 7 years ago…that being said.. Surprise!!! Unfortunately I did not get this bat new and actually borrowed it (they aren’t the easiest to get your hands on right now) so I couldn’t test it in the plastic.  I tested it with some league hits on it, no BP and it tested at 245.  I have been warned that this bat would get super hot very fast, so I didn’t tempt fate by using 40/325 balls.  Instead we use the NX3 52/300 Spinners.

Just a scant 50 balls in and this bat was REALLY breaking loose.  The stiffness in the handle was not reflected as the barrel was just stupid hot.  Sweet spot is not the biggest but it my well be the only non-senior bat I’d use for the senior circuit.  This bat immediately brought to mind the original Ultra or Ultra II.   It was that hot.  After hitting 100 balls I tested it again…fluttering at 225-230…  and it felt like it was going to bust with every swing.  When you hit it on the sweet spot its absolute money, even when you miss the ball comes off hard.

Final Thought : While I do think this bat is a missile launcher I can’t see it lasting very long.  I suspect that another 100 balls and we’d be below the 220 mark.  It’s everything you’ll want in bat…except it’s not going to be legal for very long if you take much (or any) BP with it.  The good news is that it’s not a complicated bat and it’s easy to get a feel for.  A dozen swings and you’ll have it down.  The Good : Unreal performance.  Borders on being a Senior bat.  The Bad : Can’t see this bat staying at 220 for very long.  Overall for those who play some league and the occasional tournament this bat is definitely for you.  Get your hands on one and start hitting scuds.  Make sure you keep the reciept though… because it’s not a matter of IF you’ll need it, but rather WHEN.

Leave a comment